Glock Pro Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Banned
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright just picked up my first piece, a gen 4 glock 19. Ive been shooting glocks for about 2 years now, so im still learning. However ive never actually owned a fire arm. Never had to clean one / field strip it / lube it up, any of it. I know i should clean it just about after every range session. So just looking for some basic tips or advice, maybe some pics. Appreciate any kind of tips i can get. I am taking some basic firearm classes in 2 weeks and dont wanna look like an idiot.

·
Banned
44 Posts
Practice makes perfect! I wouldn't worry about looking like an "idiot" everyone starts somewhere. I think its good that your taking those classes to better familiarize yourself with your weapon. You can never have too much knowledge, especially something that can possibly save you and your loved ones lives!

·
Registered
248 Posts
Glock Cleaning:

Both of those guys lubricate with grease, I use one drop of gun oil in each spot indicated by the instruction manual, except I only put a drop of oil in the area in the back of the frame once every few months because any more often and oil starts pooling up in there.

This is pretty much how I lubricate my Glocks(notice that the video is flipped, like looking in a mirror):

I use Hoppe's #9 bore solvent to clean the bore of the barrel, Hoppe's Elite Cleaner to clean pretty much everything else including polymer, Ballistol oil for corrosion protection of any metal parts I can reach, and Hoppe's oil for lubrication.