Glock Pro Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a new member here. I am expecting to make my first semi-auto handgun purchase soon, so I have no experience with semi-autos.

I recently looked at some Glocks at a local dealer, decided the Model 17 Gen4 was what I liked best. But then the salesperson mentioned there were some problems with this model jamming as a result of the change to a dual recoil spring.

Does anyone here have any first hand knowledge about this issue? I am apprehensive about making the purchase until I determine if this issue really exists or has been resolved or not. Don't want to waste my hard earned firearms dollars on a troublesome gun.

·
Super Moderator
6,946 Posts
I am a new member here. I am expecting to make my first semi-auto handgun purchase soon, so I have no experience with semi-autos.

I recently looked at some Glocks at a local dealer, decided the Model 17 Gen4 was what I liked best. But then the salesperson mentioned there were some problems with this model jamming as a result of the change to a dual recoil spring.

Does anyone here have any first hand knowledge about this issue? I am apprehensive about making the purchase until I determine if this issue really exists or has been resolved or not. Don't want to waste my hard earned firearms dollars on a troublesome gun.
I have a 4th generation Glock 17 and love it!

There were some issues with early Glock 17 4th gens when shooting lower powered (cheap) ammunition. Glock recently came out with a new recoil spring that solves the problem.

If your G17 does not come with the new recoil spring (02 version) call Glock and they will send you one for free... That's what I did... I shoot cheap ammo and have had no (zero) failures since putting in the new recoil spring.

·
Premium Member
5,921 Posts