Glock Pro Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Happy New Year guys...I'm fairly new to pistols/handguns...ive only been to the range a handful of times...each time i shot a 357 revolver, a 22, 9mm etc. I'm about to purchase my first handgun and a buddy of mine recommended getting a Glock 31 .357 sig (he uses one on the job).

What are your thoughts on the 31 for someone with my limited experience? What ammo do you recommend and is it available online? Some people I talk to say the ammo availability might be an issue. I'll be using it at the range and want something thats good for home protection. Just looking to get some opinions. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
5,921 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

As far as the 357 sig goes, availability locally might be an issue for you but you should be able to buy it online from any number of places. I try to buy most all my ammo online because you can always find much better prices, especially when you are looking at buying bulk. Where you might have an issue is if you need to grab a quick box to go shoot and can't find any.

As far as what's best or great for home protection/range you're going to get a varying opinion. I like to shoot and practice as much as I can, which hasn't been much lately but with that in mind, 9mm is cheaper in many cases than .45 ACP, or .45 GAP. I like the .45 GAP round and own one of GLOCKs .45 GAP pistols but I don't shoot it anywhere near as much as I do the 9mm versions I own. This may be the same situation with the .357 sig although I don't own one so I don't have any reference for ammo cost. Just taking a quick glance, it appears that for Full Metal Jacket (range ammo) 9mm is about half what .357 sig cost but I spent about 10 seconds looking that up so it may be able to be found cheaper.