Glock Pro Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,921 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have asked and received permission to post this video from it's owner. I thought it might be helpful to some that are new to carrying, or that maybe haven't received any qualified training on proper methods. As always, I recommend that you seek out proper training from qualified individuals and do not recommend anyone simply watch a video and attempt to re-create. Also, please note that whenever you are practicing with your weapon, you should always, ALWAYS, triple check that the weapon is clear before attempting any training.

As I stated this is not me in the video but the person demonstrating the technique is very well versed in handgun manipulation. He is a trainer and has an extensive background. A "Been There, Done That" guy if you will. This draw stroke was the method I was taught about 4 years ago. This was after I had been shooting for about 30 years, doing it incorrectly. When I say incorrectly, it was the way I was taught 30, 20, 10 years ago, etc.. At that time, the process I was taught was probably the correct process but as with everything else, things improve and newer/better ways are often found.

In general, although it looks like one fluid movement, which it should, this is often referred to as the 4 step draw.
Step 1 - Get a proper firing grip on your weapon. Once you bring it out of the holster, you should not have to alter your grip at all. If your holster, or method of carry requires you to do this, you may want to rethink your holster or method of carry.
Step 2 - "Tickle the Nipple". I know, it sounds silly but basically, once you have the proper grip, you draw straight up, to the point on your chest, where your thumb can "tickle your nipple". If necessary, the gun could be angled towards and assailant at this point and fired, although the shot would probably be low so take that into consideration.