Glock Pro Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
756 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What are the advantages and disadvantages of using heavier/lighter recoil springs vs. standard factory?

If you are using a light load (grain) for your pistol, I guess a heavier spring could not be recoiled enough to eject and feed properly. And, a light spring might cause more slamming metal against metal using heavy loads. Does the weight of the spring influence how fast it will cycle and the trigger's reset time?

Hays

·
Registered
18 Posts
I am answering only to let you know that for general usage, your handgun recoil spring from the factory will work well for any factory loaded ammo, including light loads. If you reload, and load extra heavy loads, the factory spring set up will handle them too unless you plan to feed your gun a steady diet..then and only then would I suggest a heavy recoil spring change. I am not an engineer nor do I play one on TV, so I will not second guess the designers of the gun. Today's guns are made to shoot hot ammo because the manufacturers know we want to shoot as powerful a load as we can, some sort of macho thing I guess. Now, if you are shooting a vintage gun, well..don't shoot hot ammo in it and don't change springs so that you can! Metallurgy has changed over the years. With having said all of that, if you are a competition shooter shooting the lightest loads allowed for your particular shooting sport and you are after light recoil and speed to get back on target quickly, then you can change the recoil spring assembly to fit that need, but of course that gun would be used for that purpose only. Well I hope that answers your question somewhat, but know that my ramblings are just my humble opinion, of course.

·
Premium Member
3,884 Posts
What are the advantages and disadvantages of using heavier/lighter recoil springs vs. standard factory?