Glock Pro Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am just starting to learn about guns. taking my ccw class next weekend, i havent purchased a gun yet.(looking at a Glock 19 ) . my wife and my big concern is being safe while my grandkids are around 1-1/2 , 2-1/2, 7, years old...looking at biometric gun safes on the internet...tell me about them, what do i need to look for ... is this a good deal for me so that the gun is still accessible quickly if i do need it. thanks

·
Premium Member
5,921 Posts
I went with a similar safe but I do not use the biometric version. Here is the one I went with;

http://www.gunvault.com/handgun-safes/multi-multi-deluxe.html

I like these safes for a bedside safe. I have a larger safe for the majority of my firearms but these smaller safes allow me to secure my daily carry and bedside firearms while still being able to have relatively quick access to them, without needing to fumble with a key. I bolted mine to the floor in an easily accessible spot in the bedroom, and I also store a key for my bedroom shotgun. The shotgun has a keylock on the trigger to keep it safe from the children as well.

With these Gun Vault safes, you can access them quickly in complete darkness, giving you access to your firearm (s) when needed but keeping them out of the reach of little hands. Typically, I put my firearm on in the morning and take it off at bedtime, so mine is really just used for overnight storage. :)

·
Super Moderator
7,030 Posts
Biometric gun safes are usually based on the owners fingerprints. There is no key or pass card to lose and they are difficult for anyone but the owner to open. Here's a link to one company that offers biometric gun safes:

http://www.gunsafes.com/Biometric-Gun-Safe.html

·
Premium Member
5,921 Posts