Glock Pro Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

It is my first time to have a firearm, and I am glad it is a Glock. I was wondering what is the best cleaning product for my firearm? A friend of mine recommended FrogLube, but when I searched it at YouTube, all I see are negative comments about it.

Also, is it correct that I use CLP to clean the Glock, then put some oil on it like Hoppe's No. 9 Lubricant?

Thank you very much for the advice.

Miami

·
Administrator
3,276 Posts
The official line from Glock is that as long as the products are meant for guns, they don’t care. And that’s actually true. Glocks don’t have rust issues and they need very little lubricant.

In general, I like lightweight oil for lubrication. I’m currently using Lucas Extreme Duty Gun Oil (available at a lot of automotive stores as well as online), I’ve only used it a few months but so far it doesn’t seem to be trapping dirt and I like the trigger feel with it. I withhold the right to change my mind but so far so good.

Hoppes will also work just fine. Glock US uses Shooters Choice, but they’ll tell you there’s nothing special about it vs any other lightweight oil that their guns need. Dirt is the real enemy so that’s why they recommend lightweight oil over grease.

Same goes for cleaning, anything meant for a gun will work. I just started using Hoppes 9 foaming barrel cleaner and am liking it.

You only need chemical on the bore of the gun. Everything else can be cleaned with a cloth or brush. If you brush it off frequently it’ll clean up quick. Never put oil or chemicals in the firing pin channel. Keep it dry and clean out with some long qtips a couple times a year.

Maintain your springs and the gun will last multiple lifetimes. I change mine every year on the guns I shoot regularly regardless of the number of rounds. Springs are cheap, yet they are the most important part for protecting the gun and being sure it functions reliably!!