Glock Pro Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
As a brief introduction, I'm engel556, I'm 22 living in an apartment and going to school online while I work. I have no experience at all with guns (never owned, held, or fired one), though I know a bit about them from online research. I'm soon to make my first purchase and I'm sold on Glock primarily for the safety technology.

With that said, I know you've probably seen the question "what is the best Glock?" a thousand times. I'm not going to come in here and drop such a subjective question. Rather, I'd like to give you some information and hopefully you can guide me in the right direction.

I intend to purchase my first Glock in the next few months. It will serve as a home defense weapon, but will probably only ever be fired at the range. I will be taking a new shooter's course and a home defense course after my purchase (both taught by local LEOs). I should also note that I will be purchasing a "full-size" Glock because I have large hands.

Now, I'm a bit overwhelmed. With all of these different calibers, ammo brands/types/grains, I'm lost. I have some basic knowledge on these things (I know a .45 round is larger than a 9mm, and what a hollowpoint is) but not a whole lot more than that. This is where I would greatly appreciate the guidance of people more experienced in the realm of firearms.

Due to the intended use of the Glock (home defense and target shooting for practice) there are several things I've read that I should keep in mind. The first and seemingly most important is penetration capability. Obviously I don't want a round to penetrate a wall (I do live in an apartment building) and hurt a neighbor in the event of a home invasion. I don't know which rounds are better or worse for this, but I would imagine a .45 or a .357 is more likely to over-penetrate than a 9mm. With penetration in mind, which Glocks should I immediately rule out?